Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

The Plunge. January 7, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Annette @ 5:15 am

Well guys, here it is.

I’m going to be baptized tomorrow.

Honestly, I’m scared.  And I don’t know how to feel.  Happy?  Sad?  Should I just go ahead and break down right now?

I’ve been thinking about it and trying to work towards it for quite a long time.  When Sarah got baptized a couple of years ago, it really hit me that, Whoah, we’re old enough to do that?  It just made me realize that we’re all growing up, and we’ve got to figure out what we want to do with our lives.  For baptism preparation my dad used to have people go through three lessons of the old correspondence course (he now apparently has them go through six lessons of the new correspondence course), so I did those, and also went through the baptism booklet a couple of times.  Then I went through LCG’s Statement of Beliefs, and made sure I agreed with everything there.  But I still wasn’t satisfied that I’d actually proven everything to myself, or could defend what I believe, without help, to someone who challenged me.  So I set out on my own little quest of proof.  I listed on a couple pages major doctrines and ideas of things I wanted to prove to myself, and then set about actively proving them.  I’ve been doing that for a couple of months now, and I still haven’t gone completely through my list.  I broke them down into various degrees of importance, and I’ve gone through but about two of the really really important, and the really important.  I’m satisfied with that.  I mean, I won’t stop working through it, because it’s important to prove all things, but I don’t see anything now that should stop me from being baptized.

I’ve been debating whether or not I should post my proof, because I wanted to get my dad to read it over first and make sure it was all right.  Well, I think I’ll just go ahead and post it.  But please, no one take it as official LCG doctrine 🙂  It’s also not completed yet, but I think that the idea is a good and important one, so maybe it’ll inspire some of you 🙂

File Attachment: The Plan.doc (280 KB)

But it still scares me.  Do I really know what I’m doing?  Is this the right thing to do?  Of course it is.  Am I ready?  Well, if I’m not, what would make me more ready?  I can’t think of anything.  I think I’ve done all I can to prepare.  I guess part of it is just not feeling worthy, or like you’ll ever quite be there.  But I think that’s right.  We’re not worthy.  And on our own, we can do nothing.

I counselled with Mr. Weston in October, before Cindy Lou’s wedding.  He said he only felt like we needed one more session.  Time went by, but he never came back to Kingston.  He wasn’t in Kingston at all between before the Feast and after I’d already left for December break.  My dad has done all of his kids’ baptisms, so I knew it was really important to him that he do mine as well.  To do that, it’d either have to be now, or May.  So I wrote Mr. Weston and asked if we could possibly do the last counselling over the phone.  That was fine with him, so we talked on Thursday night.  It was kind of amusing to counsel ove the phone, but all I did was say, “Mm-hmm” like I would in person anyway, so it was fine 🙂  Mr. Weston has a reputation in Ontario for being tough when it comes to making sure that you’re ready for baptism, but he really didn’t seem too bad to me.  Maybe I was just super-smart and knew all the answers 😉  Since my dad’s going to do the actual baptism, though, he had to make sure that I actually knew what I was talking about.  Over dinner he gave me the overall super-fast counselling session, which…took me by surprise, really.  He asked me several questions which were specific to the materials he has people work through, which, either I hadn’t done, or did a long time ago.  It was…unnerving.  Anyway, that’s through now, so it’s on to the real deal.

We’ve got two services tomorrow (Baltimore and Winchester), and following services in Winchester we’ll go back to the Dulaney’s house (the elder there) and do the baptism.  Apparently they have some sort of big tub thing that should work.  First Mrs. Dulaney was asking if I could fit in a regular tub, and wanted Mom to have me try it out here.  Mom was like, “If you can fit in the tub, we can do it right here!”  I told her that getting baptized in my own house would be anti-climactic, and I’d rather not 🙂  So the plan is to do it in Winchester tomorrow.  I asked Sabrina and Ken if they wanted to come, but so far it doesn’t look like either is going to be able to make it.  Any of you guys want to come? 🙂  I asked Charlie (who’s just returned from Puerto Rico), and he just laughed.

So, I’m going to go read the last half of the baptism booklet now.  For the…fourth time?  (It’s also time to remove my whitening strip :))  Everybody have a great Sabbath, and hey guys, this Sabbath Penman is 23 🙂

 

11 Responses to “The Plunge.”

  1. igaray Says:

    Congrats Annette!!

  2. Gary Says:

    Wow, now I can truly see why things have been rather hectic for you lately. Juggling college, forms, along with the prospect of getting baptized..whew.

    But anyhow, I think Desiree said it on her blog. I know I heard it somewhere, and it’s a great principle (And if Desiree did, she said it well). If we were perfect, there would be no need for baptism. And you mentioned at least part of that principle in your post.

    Truthfully, it does sound a bit scary, and I can see how it can make an individual have anxiety beyond belief. But out of many, many people, you would be one I would consider suitable and the most apparent – at least to me – to be baptized and convicted and devoted to God. I’d congratulate you tomorrow, but I’d forget 😛 So, congratulations now. 🙂

  3. Jeff Says:

    Congrats! It’s crazy to see who all is being babtized in our age range. I’ve got a list that I’ve had for about a year now, maybe less than that. But I’ll post it on here for you. It’s not in any particular order, just compliled as names came to me. I know there are other people I know who are babtized, but I’ll need help with it (you guys will prolly, at the very least, double the list.) Anyway, that’s awesome! I hope all goes well… tomor…err… today. 🙂 Take care.

    Ben Kryer
    Lisa Wilson
    Martin Martinez
    Kim Morris
    Karen Tremble
    Gina Morrelli
    Josh Kerr
    Julie Arnold
    Eric Olsen
    Juan Bermudez
    Chreie Koons
    Summer Burdette
    Leona Dorothy
    Desiree Burdette
    Donald M
    Shelli M
    Aaron Vorel
    Kevin (I forget the last name)
    Chad Ridgeway
    Ashley Brooks
    Jason O’connor
    Annette Frank

  4. buckblog Says:

    Congratulation!

  5. Desiree Says:

    Congratulations, Annette! And, if you read this after the fact… welcome to the family :-).

  6. Crystal Says:

    Congrats!

  7. Summer Says:

    Congratulations Annette! Welcome to the family, sis. 🙂

  8. Stace Says:

    That’s awesome Annette! I’m happy for you 🙂

  9. Michael Says:

    Congrats, Annette. You young’ns have no idea how inspiring you are to geezers like me.

  10. Prizilla Says:

    Congratulations! And thank you…you work hard at your goals, you’ve achieved this spiritual milestone, ‘the plunge’, as it were, and as an example for younger folks (such as myself), you’re a good one 🙂

  11. ducky Says:

    a belated congratulations Annette! 🙂


Leave a Reply

