Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

Unbelievable. January 9, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Annette @ 6:53 pm

I’m back.

The trip home was crazy.  Typical Annette travelling.  Stories later.

I just have to say, this is going to be an AWESOME semester.  I had my anatomy histology course this morning, and it looks like it’s going to be good.  We’re doing cardiovascular stuff first, then lymphohematopoeisis, then genitourinary cancers.  Exciting stuff.  Then I went to Spanish.  *cough*  10 minutes into the course, I already knew I was going to drop it.  Wow, if I ever wanted to make a Spanish course hard and boring, I would make it exactly like this course.  It’s all history and culture, so it’s all about doing a lot of reading at home and preparing questions, then talking about it in class.  Today we read about the Aztecs.  And, you know, I don’t have anything against the Aztecs, but really, I’m not studying Spanish so I can talk about Aztecs.  I’m studying Spanish so I can speak Spanish.  I have a fairly good grasp of grammar (*had* a good grasp? – I feel like I’ve forgotten everything already), but my speaking skills are lacking.  I know that I need to practice to be able to improve, but it always seems that language courses jump straight from grammar to culture and literature courses.  The same thing happened with French.  I got to the point where I really needed to be practicing normal day-to-day conversational stuff, but the only courses which were available were literature courses about French-speaking Algerian women.  That’s why I switched to Spanish, and now I’m faced with the same problem again.  I realize that doing the readings and talking about them in class will help your vocabulary and speaking skills, but it seems to me like it’s a big step from what we’ve been doing.  I’ve done well in Spanish overall, but I was pretty lost today.  I feel like we need intermediate courses that have you use your language knowledge in normal, useful contexts.

Immediately upon returning home I started looking for a new elective to take in place of Spanish.  *sigh*  Goodbye, Spanish.  I really want to take German, but the sections for this semester are completely filled.  Last semester there was tons of room in all the sections.  Man.  So I went through allll the courses that I could potentially take, and man, it was slim pickins.  A lot of the courses I’d like to take are either not offered this semester or require prerequisites that I don’t have.  I ended up finding another music course which sounded interseting and didn’t require music prerequisites.  It’s an ethnomusicology course, so it looks at music in relation to culture, and is based on world music traditions.  It had like 80 spots left open, so I didn’t have any problems getting in πŸ™‚  Plus it doesn’t start until tonight, so that means I haven’t missed anything yet.  That’s definitely a bonus.  It’s a 3–hour once-a-week course, as is my anatomy embryology course, so MAN!  You should see my schedule πŸ™‚  It’s the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen.  10 hours of class a week, total.  Two classes and an anatomy lab on Monday, one class on Tuesday, one class on Thursday.  That is IT.  Brian was like, “What do you think you are, a fine arts student?”  I tell you what, it’s about time πŸ™‚ 

I’m so excited.  I’m going to LEARN and do well this semester.  I’m also still going to be doing yoga, plus choral ensemble twice a week.  And I’ll have no excuse to not work out.  I took a gander at the Couch-to-5K running program Ben was talking about, and it looks like it makes sense.  I think I’m going to give ‘er a shot.  I’ve never, ever been a runner, and in fact have always claimed that running is the devil.  But I’m really turned off by the concept of going to a gym to pull levers on strange contraptions.  It just seems so artificial.  Running you can do anywhere, anytime, and it generally gets you outside.  So, once I get over this cold of mine, I think I’m going to start the program.  I don’t know anything about running in general, nor about running in cold weather.  I know several of you guys are running gurus, so do you have any good suggestions?

All right.  I’ve got to finish unpacking, and then get my stupid grad school applications finished.  It frustrates me that they’re still hanging over my head.  I definitely thought they’d be completely finished by now.  Get ‘er done.

 

2 Responses to “Unbelievable.”

  1. Michael Says:

    I think there’s an opening in Molecular Genetics, if you’re looking for an elective… ;-D

  2. Infinity Says:

    I may be crazy, but I ain’t THAT crazy πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

