Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

I need help. January 17, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Annette @ 6:08 pm

So in all seriousness, this is a question I really have to answer:

“After you have studied the missions of the Department of Homeland Security and the background information on the Science and Technology Directorate, how do you think your interests, talents, and initiative would contribute to make the homeland safer and secure?”

Basically, the way I see that nutrition can possibly fit into the mission of the DHS is through the National Center for Food Protection and Defense (coincidentally enough, based out of the University of Minnesota).  They’re the guys who try to figure out how to prevent intentional contamination of the food supply, identify it when it happens, respond to it, deal with public health effects, and develop educational programs so everybody knows what’s going on and what to do.

I don’t have a clue what to say.  I’m really not interested in the “security in food processing and packaging” side of it, but think that I could potentially find a lot of interest in dealing with health effects after a crisis.  (I find it really weird that I’m talking about how I could be involved in anti-terrorism efforts.)  But, like…what kind of a crisis?  Biological or chemical agents carried on foods?  I don’t know anything about what those would be, or where I could start.  Ahh.  Do you guys have any ideas?

 

One Response to “I need help.”

  1. Kerr Says:

    With expertise in biology and nutrition, you would be able to identify symptoms of various kinds of food/water contamination, assess the breadth of the situation, and contribute in …?…fixing all that crap?
    With all your college experience, don’t you know how to BS yet?


Leave a Reply

