Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

The sound of silence. March 2, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Annette @ 5:08 am

So, I don’t know what’s been up with me recently.  I just haven’t felt like I’ve had much to blog about.  Weird, eh?

I’m back at school now, with 5 1/2 weeks of classes to go.  Ever.  Well…in undergrad.  I’m actually starting to do some school work now that all my application nonsense is over.  I have three research papers and a presentation to prepare in these next 5 1/2 weeks, so I’ll be busy.  I got to work on my music paper today, and for the first time in this entire semester I felt productive.  It was awesome.  It was a little strange, too, because I ended up spending my entire day listening to 30–second samples of obscure ethnic “world music.”  I have to choose three world music songs to write an 8–10 page paper on.  I ended up choosing Great Big Sea “Wave Over Wave”, Buena Vista Social Club “Candela”, and Ofra Haza “Galbi.”  Basically, that spans Celtic folk, Cuban, and Middle Eastern music.  Whoohoo.  Let’s hear it for being eclectic.  I also stumbled upon Israel Kamakawiwo’ole’s “Somewhere Over the Rainbow/What a Wonderful World,” which I’m not using for my paper, but it was too sweet to pass up.  I highly recommend downloading it.  This dude was the most popular musician in Hawaii a few years back.  He died of a heart attack (one review described him as having a “ballooning” weight problem – at times he reached 750 pounds). 

So anyway, Great Big Sea, always a good pick.  Gotta love ‘em.  They’re Canadian.  How could you not love them? 

Buena Vista Social Club – very cool story.  Basically, this American guitarist/ethnomusicologist went down to Cuba to find some old forgotten musicians who hung out at the Buena Vista Social Club.  They were aging and hadn’t played together in years, but he got them to come together and play, and eventually they made an album (and a PBS documentary!).  The album was huge; it cause a fury of interest in Cuban/Latin music and ignited the whole industry.  Plus it’s just fun to dance to.  I got the song from Charlie, but didn’t know the name of the song or the performers, so I had to try to figure out a couple of the (Spanish) lyrics and then do random Google searches until I eventually found it.

Ofra Haza – apparently huge in Israel, the Middle East and Europe a few years back.  She also died (why do I keep finding cool, dead artists?) of AIDS complications.  I was looking for something completely different to throw in the mix of my songs, and wondered if I could find any cool Middle Eastern music.  Ofra Haza has some fun bouncy tunes.  I think Galbi is in Arabic, but it may be partly Hebrew as well (chica spoke 5 languages! – my kinda woman).

In other news, I’m running 25 minutes straight now.  Which reminds me, I need to register for the 5K race.  I also still need to find some running tights.  I’ve convinced Brian to run the race with me, so it should be a good time 🙂

After I flew back to Toronto (my flight was a good hour and a half late – good thing my smuggled American ground beef didn’t thaw out) I went up to stay with Alison and David for the weekend.  I ran twice (and wiped out once – I’ve got the 3 inch black, purple and green bruise to prove it).  Alison even ran with me once so I wouldn’t have to go out in the dark by myself 🙂  On Saturday night we went skiing (YAY!), which was really cool.  I hadn’t been skiing in like 5 years, so I totally had to relearn everything.  It was a lot of fun though, and the blizzarding conditions made it even more interesting.  Praised be the man who invented goggles.  On Sunday we drove to Toronto and went to the Ontario Science Center to see the Body Worlds exhibit.  Very, very cool stuff.  If you haven’t heard about it, read up, and go see it if you have a chance.  It wasn’t like…a life-changing experience for me, because I’ve taken 3 years of anatomy and have seen all that stuff before, but the quality of the dissections was amazing, and the different poses and displays were very cool. 

From there I caught the bus back to K-town, talked with Charlie along the way, then had Brian pick me up and went grocery shopping. 

I had my grad photos taken this morning.  I totally thought I wouldn’t have any problems getting ready in just over an hour, but apparently I take much longer to primp and preen when I’m about to have my picture taken.  I barely managed to dry my hair before I ran out the door.  Thankfully I think they turned out fairly well.  I’m gradjumatating!

To bed with me. 

Good morning, and in case I don’t see you, good afternoon, good evening and goodnight!

 

Leave a Reply

