Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

Caffeine…..HIGH! March 29, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Annette @ 6:37 pm

I JUST HAD A LARGE COFFEE FROM TIM HORTON’S.  AHHH.

OKAY!  The latest news!  Charlie suggested to me that I check on Minnesota’s requirements for residency status, as non-resident tuition rates are double those for residents.  So as a non-resident I’d be charged $16K/year, versus $8K/year if I were a resident.  As I was reading about it, I stumbled upon an exemption for graduate students: if you hold a teaching assistantship position, you’re automatically charged resident rates.  I was OFFERED A TA POSITION.  I’d only be charged $8K/year!  And the TA position would pay $4K!  That’s a whole heck of a lot more viable an option than having to personally pay $12K/year like I thought.  Yesterday I told the Minnesota woman that I wouldn’t be able to go if I had to pay the $12K/year (as McGill is a lot cheaper, even without considering the possibility of getting a TA position there).  Today I had to write her back and apologize for not knowing how the system works, and tell her that I *would* be able to accept the position and attend Minnesota if I would be charged resident rates.  So!  That’s exciting!  There is some hope!  A glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel!  Gold at the end of the rainbow!  Greener grass on the other…okay, that’s enough.

Ow, my head hurts.

 

One Response to “Caffeine…..HIGH!”

  1. buckblog Says:

    Coffee, the fluid of life!


Leave a Reply

