Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

Life without staples. April 8, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Annette @ 5:05 am

Have you ever thought about it?  How much more difficult would life be without staples?  You wouldn’t be able to keep all the pages of a document together.  They’d fall all over, get mixed up, out of order.  It’d be chaos.  Anarchy!  ANARCHY, I TELL YOU!  Good thing we have staples.

Well, one essay down.  I turned in my histology cancer paper today.  Thankfully I was able to finish last night so I could start doing research for my next essay today.  It’s due on Monday.  I started researching for it today.  It’s going to be a nail-biter.

I just made a fairly disgusting mixed drink.  I have vodka, but nothing to mix it with, and am not willing to drink it straight (sounds too much like an alcoholic to me).  So I tried to make a concoction with milk, blueberries and sugar, in a sort of smoothy-type thing.  It was okay at first, but eventually just became gross.  I won’t be doing that again.

I received my acceptance packet from Boston today.  Estimated yearly graduate budget: $47 422.  That includes housing and everything, but yeah…  Thanks a lot for the $15K. 

The grad school decision is unfortunately only becoming more complex.  As I think I mentioned before, there’s the possibility that I might be able to get a TA position at Minnesota.  I originally wasn’t considered for a TA position because they are only for people with a nutrition background.  Fair enough – it doesn’t really make sense for me to be TAing a nutrition course when I’ve never taken nutrition in my life.  But, the woman at Minnesota asked if I might be able to take some nutrition courses over the summer, and as a result be eligible for an assistantship.  I had already been planning on taking courses over the summer because Minnesota requires that you have three undergrad nutrition courses either before you get there or before you finish your graduate degree.  It makes more sense to take them before I get there so I can be prepared for graduate courses in nutrition, plus if I take them over the summer I won’t have to be in grad school longer.  So that was the plan.  Anyway, the woman said I could be considered for a position if I take the courses.  I haven’t heard back from her yet, though, so I don’t know what the official decision was.

I had asked about assistantships at Boston a couple of months ago, and the story there was the same as at Minnesota: you need to have a background in nutrition.  So I did get the $15K scholarship, but I wasn’t considered for any assistantships.  It struck me today that perhaps it was possible for me to work out the same deal with Boston as Minnesota had offered me – take nutrition courses over the summer, and be considered for an assistantship.  It was worth a shot, so I wrote the woman over there to ask if that was a possibility.  She asked what I was planning on taking and where, but also mentioned that she won’t know if any TA positions are available until the students who were offered them respond.  That might not be until the end of April, and I have to send my reply to them about whether or not I’m accepting by April 19.  Ohhh, the decisions.

Basically, I have no idea what I’m doing, and don’t know when I will be able to make a decision.  Right now Homeland Security is the big factor that I’m waiting on.  They say you should hear about that in April, but they don’t say when in April.  Then there’s the assistantship possibility, but I don’t know when I’ll hear back from Minnesota about that, or if that’s even an option at Boston. 

So…I’d appreciate any prayers that you could spare about this whole affair 🙂  (Ooh, I rhymed.)  I’m so thankful that I have the option to go to any of the schools that I applied to.  That’s a huge blessing, and I know it definitely wasn’t my doing.  I didn’t know if I’d get in anywhere, but suddenly I’ve been accepted to five schools, all with really good programs.  And if I were willing to go $100 000 in debt for a Master’s degree and RD, I’d be set.  But I’m really not.  So that makes the decision-making process a lot more stressful.  I’m impatient to just know what I’m doing, and know that I’m coming down to the wire on some of these schools.  Story of my life, eh? 🙂

I had another revelatory thought today in addition to the global importance of staples.  It came as Christina was telling me about how her mom and dad are on their way down to Myrtle Beach (which she at first mixed up with “the Dominican” :)) for a little vacation.  Now, you have to understand.  Christina has never been outside of Ontario.  (This is not to criticize her or her family, but just to illustrate how blessed we all are.)  We live 45 MINUTES from the US border, and she’s never once stepped foot in the US.  She’s a country girl from a small town, and I don’t remember her ever mentioning travelling farther west than Toronto, or farther east than Ottawa.  So basically, in her whole life she’s seen about 500 kilometers (310 miles) of earth.  She said this trip was her parents’ first trip, ever.  “What?  What do you mean, ever?”  “They’ve never gone anywhere.  Dad went to Florida once with his buddies.  Mom and Dad drove to BC to live there when they first got married, but that’s the only time they’ve travelled in Canada.”  “Have they ever been to the US?”  “Not besides just a an hour or two into upstate New York.”  “Why not??”  “No money…?”

I don’t have much money either, but’s really hard for me to understand this.  I recognize that I’m a bit more of a vagabond than perhaps most people (having parents who live 9 hours away helps with that), but travelling has always been a major part of my life.  Think about it.  Where have you been?  Most of us have at least travelled within the US and Canada, often extensively, and some of us have been to the Caribbean or Europe.  I’ve been to Alberta, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, too many states to list, Germany, France and Luxembourg.  Why are we so well-travelled?  A major factor is the Feast.  We follow God’s command to save our second tithe, and as a result we’re able to travel and see and experience amazing things. 

Christina asked about the colour of the sand at Myrtle Beach (she just finished a sedimentary rock course, and is into that type of thing :)), so I told her about the city and the beach and the things to do there.  I showed her some of my pictures from the Feast in 03, and told her about some of the activities we did.  I was trying to explain the Dixie Stampede (yeah yeah, laugh it up, it was fun :)), and thought I might be able to draw a parallel between that and Medieval Times.  I asked if she had ever been to Medieval Times.  No.  Did she know what it was?  Yeah, kind of…not really.  Okay, scratch that idea.  So, it’s like a big arena, and the audience sits either on the “North” side or the “South” side…  She gives me a blank look.  You know, the North and the South in the US?  The Civil War?  Still no response.  I realize I’m going to have to take a different approach.  “Okay, so there was a Civil War in the United States between the North and the South…”  I make a reference to the animosity between Southerners and Yankees, and she doesn’t know what Yankees are.

Now, I’m not adamantly saying, “This is what happens when you don’t travel,” but it’s partly true.  We’ve seen and done and learned a LOT of things because of the opportunity we’ve had to travel.  And it’s not just the Feast.  KC weekends, Wisconsin weekends, Tahoe weekends, New Orleans weekends, Atlanta weekends, Tennessee weekends.  We’ve all been to these events because of the church.  We have friends all over the world (hi Penman :)) because of the opportunities blessed upon us because we obey God’s commands.  We’re able to interact with those people, visit them, and learn more about the world as a whole.  Hey, I didn’t know where New Zealand was before Josh came around 🙂  I think sometimes we tend to focus too much on the blessings we will be given in the future, and don’t recognize or fully appreciate the ones we have now. 

So I want to extend my gratitude for the diversity that you all bring to the table 🙂  From references to cribbage, Jheris and S-Curls (I’m a white girl, I don’t know about these things :)), or even something geeky and obscure, you all expand my horizons (okay Mike, I admit that I’m kind of stealing your line here).  I am really big on cultural familiarity and appreciation, trying new things and learning what’s out there, and think it’s really important that we not keep our heads buried in our local sands.

In keeping with my tradition of endless summer travel, these are the trips for this summer:
-Virginia
-Montana
-Ontario
-Missouri?
-Michigan
-New York State
-Minnesota or Boston or Montreal or Seattle or DC

And Colorado for the Feast 🙂  It’s seeing a list like that that makes me love my itinerant lifestyle 🙂

 

7 Responses to “Life without staples.”

  1. KiwiGeek Says:

    Hey, I still don’t know where New Zealand is.

    Cosmically speaking.

  2. Kerr Says:

    There’s a new one?

  3. Kerr Says:

    And straight vodka isn’t alcoholic!

  4. KiwiGeek Says:

    Yes. There’s an old one, too.

  5. Karl Says:

    I don’t care how alcoholic you are, straight vodka is crazy.

  6. flyinryan Says:

    spelled Zeeland, in the Netherlands

  7. Charlie Says:

    Not “Missouri?” It’s “Missouri!”


Leave a Reply

