Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

Plagues of Egypt? April 25, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Annette @ 9:11 pm

Unbelievable.

Every spring I try to explain to people the disgusting and annoying number of tiny little flies that flock together to breed, as well as fly into your eyes, nose, mouth, hair, and clothing.  I had to run through them on my long run on Sunday.  Yesterday I walked back from campus with an essay in my hand, and after I came home and brushed the flies off of me, I found a fly squished in between the pages of my essay.  Mmm.  But as much as I talk about it, I still don’t think you can quite understand the magnitude of it.

This is the view from my window right now.

Flies.
And flies.
And more flies.

I think either all Israelites are on their way out of Kingston, or the Lord is telling me it’s time to move.  Cursed Lake Ontario!

 

13 Responses to “Plagues of Egypt?”

  1. Annabizelle Says:

    ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

  2. Gary Says:

    WOW.. You’ve gotta be kidding me..

    I was figurin’ 100-200 at the most. That’s like 100,000-200,000 πŸ™‚

  3. Stace Says:

    I was about to agree with you and say that we have tons of little flies around here too… and then I looked at your pictures… and… nevermind. Ontario definitely outbeats us in the fly area… haha πŸ™‚

  4. Jenn Says:

    I was feeling a little homesick for Kingston – thanks for reminding me of the negative!!!

  5. igaray Says:

    That’s horrific!

  6. Infinity Says:

    Okay, so in all fairness, that’s not *quite* typical πŸ™‚ But it’s true, it was right outside my window. (I’m so glad I had my window shut.) I think it’s because of being so close to the water, because other areas of Kingston don’t have them at all. And I don’t think it usually lasts very long. But…yeah, gross.

  7. Kerr Says:

    I didn’t know flies could live in Canada.

  8. ducky Says:

    Kingston needs more bug-eating birds! πŸ™‚

  9. Karl Says:

    or a big big vacuum.

  10. Michael Says:

    I always think “Jamaica” when I read “Kingston”. I don’t reckon I’ll be complaining about South Carolina’s mosquitoes anytime soon.

  11. Desiree Says:

    That is utterly disgusting. I’m highly impressed you even go outside, Annette.

  12. Infinity Says:

    Okay, seriously! It’s not usually like that! That’s the worst I’ve ever seen it, and I’ve lived here a long time. Plus that was the view from my third floor window, so down on the ground it’s not that bad.

  13. Anonymous Says:

    That’s worse than the Somalian pictures in the National Geographic! You don’t let them crawl around your eyes do you?


Leave a Reply

