Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

What citizenship am I today? April 29, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Annette @ 2:08 am

HOME!

Today I decided to be American when I went through customs.  I think that went in my favour, because I got a young male customs guard who promptly started chatting it up and generally flirting with me.  Not that’s what I’m into, but it meant that he didn’t hassle me about being an American with a Canadian passport and claiming US residency πŸ™‚  I should just tell them I’m Camerican next time.

So, 14 hours of travelling, but I’m here.  Taxi to bus to plane to car.  Two backpacks: one on back, one on front, weighing around 50–60 pounds together.  Two rolling suitcases.  One, 73 pounds and with a busted extendable handle so you have to pull it by the attached handle.  (I couldn’t remember why I’d stopped using that suitcase…  That’s why.)  The other, 60 pounds with a good handle.  Me, carrying everything.  Wow, that’s a total of like…193 pounds that I personally was dragging along, plus my own body weight.  I could only go a few hundred feet at a time and then I’d have to take a break because the handle-less suitcase was tearing up my hand.  Finally I found the SmartCarts.  That was the best $2 I ever spent πŸ™‚

My last sleep (or nap?…it was only 2 hours) in my bed in Kingston was I’m pretty sure the worst sleep I’ve ever had there.  I’d had to pack up my sheets and blankets and everything (I shipped off the rest of my stuff to B&J’s last night), so I had absolutely nothing with which to cover myself.  My room was warm, though, so I figured I’d be okay.  About halfway through my allocated 2 hours I woke up shivering and shaking because I was so incredibly COLD.  I couldn’t figure out what to do because I really didn’t have a lot of options.  I found a sweatshirt to put on, and for some reason thought to go find my still-kind-of-wet towel and curl up under it.  It was awful.  When I got up again at 5:30AM I was still shaking.  I slept like a rock on the bus to the airport, though.  That was awesome.  And then I slept for another hour stretched out on the chairs at the gate in the airport.  And another hour in the car on the way home.  I feel much better now πŸ™‚

I think I said before that my mom’s on her way out to Texas today.  We arranged our flights so that I could fly in and she could fly out at the same time, and my dad would only have to make one trip to the airport.  She was leaving at a gate two down from mine, so when I got off the plane I waited around for a few minutes until she showed up.  We talked for a few minutes and then I had to run off to meet my dad and get my luggage.  Traffic was bad on the way home, so what should have been an hour drive took us 2 1/2.  Oh well.  I’m home now.

It really hasn’t hit me yet that I’m finished school at Queen’s forever.  It doesn’t even really seem like summer break.  When I turned in my last exam yesterday, one of my friends was turning hers in at the same time.  She gave me a wink as we handed them over, and a few steps later I was boogying and whispering, “YESSSSSSSSS” and generally trying to keep myself from screaming while still in the exam area πŸ™‚

Crazy business.

~Schooooool’s out for SUMMER!  Schoooool’s out FOREVER!~  Whoohoo!

 

Leave a Reply

