Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

~I’m in a hurry to get things done. June 30, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Annette @ 1:34 am

Well, here goes the next 4 years of my life.

I talked to my advisor on the phone tonight.  I think that was the most helpful 45 minutes of my life.  She answered all of my questions, or pointed me in the right direction, and quelled most of my fears.  Basically, no one’s told me anything about registration because I don’t need to register now.  Everything will be taken care of at orientation.  Whew.  So I don’t have to worry about anything right now.  And apparently I can still choose whether I want to do a thesis or not.  And she approved my selection of Complementary Therapies and Healing Practices as my minor.  So that’s cool.  And as far as the RD goes – I can do it, but it’s going to take me a while.  I might end up taking both RD courses and Master’s courses at the same time, since RD courses are undergrad and would probably give me a better base for taking Master’s courses.  She said I’m looking at getting both of them done in 4 years.  Ouch.  That’s definitely more than I was hoping for.  Dude, I was leaning towards the Master’s at Georgetown because it only lasted for 1 year.  I *might* be able to get it done more quickly if I kill myself during the semester, OR I might be able to take courses during the summer.  I think that’s a possibility.  But…yeah.  Four years.  Here’s hoping I like Minnesota.

 

6 Responses to “~I’m in a hurry to get things done.”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I’m only an 18 year old student from Toronto who is about to go into his first year of undergraduate studies at the University of Toronto, but I visited Minneapolis several months ago on a public speaking tour for the International no-Sweatshop Community. I would suggest that after visiting the Mall of America, you take a walk over to St. Mary’s Basilica, or possibly take the Lite Transit to Lake Street (on the Haiwatha line), walk East down Lake St. E, turn right, walk down Minnehaha Ave. until you get to the Resource Center of the Americas; it’s a Library and a wonderful, fair-trade, healthy South American restaurant. Sorry for droning on! Your blog is brilliant, and I only came across it by chance as I was looking for Latin Script of a Shakespeare play (the search engine brought up your blog for some reason), so I will continue checking back, and will even create my own blog in the coming days!

  2. Aut.Disce.Aut.Discede Says:

    ^

    PS: If you walk in downtown Minneapolis in the afternoon on a weekday, don’t be surprised if the streets are empty. I couldn’t figure out how Kingston was more of a bustling city than Minneapolis – seemed a bit strange to me!

  3. Kerr Says:

    “IF” you like Minnesota?

    Jerk.

  4. Jeff Says:

    I’m not really down in mpls very often, but when I am, It’s always pretty busy. Traffic is actually getting bretty bad now, it annoys me.

    As far as walking on lake street, I wouldn’t advise that in western mpls and st. louis park (the burb directly to the west of mpls.) There’s wuite a bit of crime in the area. Especially at night.

  5. Aut.Disce.Aut.Discede Says:

    I also travelled with several people at a time, that were all very noisy and could appear intimidating. I did enjoy the lite-rail, it’s quite a different thing than what we have here in Toronto, and I was amazed at the number of churches in the city.

  6. Infinity Says:

    Kerr, aren’t you from Wisconsin?? 🙂


Leave a Reply

