Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

~I’m not scared of being alone. I’m just happier being confused beside the fire, as long as it’s with you. September 28, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Annette @ 1:50 am

This makes me sad. 

And it makes me wonder why anyone in their right mind would choose to play a first person shooter game.  And enjoy it.  Especially as Christians – especially after everything we’ve been through.

Today was a good day.  I’ve started staying on campus all day and sequestering myself in my office in an attempt to not waste time walking back and forth and getting distracted at home.  I had an exam in Nutrition and Metabolism this morning, and it went well.  I was really concerned about this class at first, and there is a lot of material that you could get caught up in if you don’t study properly.  But the quizzes and tests we’ve had so far have all been really, really straight-forward and easy.  I’m not so concerned anymore.  It’s annoying to me, though, to hear the undergrads gripe and complain about this class so much.  It’s really not that bad if you put ANY effort into it.

After class I went to my “office” (a back corner room for the TAs where they shoved all the rejected office furniture from 1973) and sat there.  All day.  Our students turned in their diet projects yesterday, so after I got my work done for my classes I started grading.  This is really the first real experience I’ve had with grading.  It makes me remember why I’ll never be a teacher.  Or, if I do teach, I’ll rely solely on Scantron.  I have 56 projects, and today I got through 16 of them in about 3 1/2 hours.  13 minutes each, that’s not too bad.  The kickers from today: the one project which was so anally and unnecessarily detailed, it took me somewhere around 30 or 40 minutes to get through it.  Agh.  Then, the best one.  The student who mistyped their intake of ice cream in the diet analysis software, and said they’d eaten 23 kilograms of ice cream.  Wow.  Their kcalorie intake was like…46000 or something, and their calcium intake was above the Upper Limit (aka – toxicity).  I laughed.  Every once in a while you get a jewel like that.

 

2 Responses to “~I’m not scared of being alone. I’m just happier being confused beside the fire, as long as it’s with you.”

  1. Banjo Ben Says:

    See, that’s why you become a professor so that one day you can get a grad student to do all of your grading for you. It’s a big cycle. 😉

  2. Desiree Says:

    NO! I’ll never have a TA do my grading for me!

    Man… you should read some of the short stories I’ve been given from my students. I’m glad I don’t have that teenage angst anymore.


Leave a Reply

