Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

Running Update. February 1, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Annette @ 12:43 am

Today: 3mi (10:30min/mi… according to the treadmill)
Total: 9mi

I’m a little skeptical of the accuracy of the treadmill. In the outside runs I’ve been doing, I know the distance I go and how long it takes me, and I’m always around a 10min/mi or a little less. When I ran on the treadmill on Monday I felt like I was running faster than that, and today I ramped up the speed a little bit, so I was running even faster, and it still said I was only doing a 10:30min/mi. I don’t know. I had to use the same treadmill as last time, too. Maybe I’m just really not used to running on a treadmill and my pacing is all messed up. But from here on out I’ll just go by whatever it tells me. The cool thing about treadmills is that you set the pace and you can’t slack off without consciously pushing the slow button. I think that’s good for me.

Treadmills are strange contraptions.

 

9 Responses to “Running Update.”

  1. Kerr Says:

    I thought that when I ran on a treadmill once too.
    And I never did it again.

  2. Crystal Says:

    Me, too! It’s so weird. I thought maybe I was the only one.

    Good job on your run. I believe you are now the official leader. That’s it. I’m definitely doing 2-a-days!

  3. Galaxia Alpha Says:

    There is seriously a learning curve for running on treadmills. I’ve been doing it for years and I finally figured out that part of the problem is learning not to overpace the treadmill. See, generally running on a treadmill forces you to cut your stride short, so you’re less efficient. Force yourself to take longer strides and you might find you can increase the pace. At least, that’s how it works for me.

    I think I kinda have a headstart too:

    Sunday – 8
    Monday – 6
    Tuesday – 6
    Wednesday – lazy bum

    Great job running everyone! The potential for running buddies is making me smile!

  4. Infinity Says:

    Okay, I don’t think Rachael is allowed in our “beginner” challenges. šŸ™‚

  5. Crystal Says:

    LOL! I’m with you, Annette! šŸ˜‰ We need to have some clause like- “if you normally run more than 25 miles in just a few days, this ‘race’ probably isn’t for you. This race is more for all us slow out-of-shape contestants.” šŸ˜‰

    Maybe we can just have more than one category? I don’t really want to leave anyone out. (How about all of you who run more than I are in a different category?)

    šŸ˜‰

    Also, I talked to JB about running on the treadmill and he basically said the same thing about your stride being different, etc.

  6. Galaxia Alpha Says:

    Hey, I’m totally up for categories! I love that everyone is setting goals like this. šŸ™‚

    Anybody wanna go for 30 miles next week? That’s a challenge for me and I need a push.

    Keep running everyone! You’re doing great!

  7. Michael Says:

    In the next couple of weeks I’ll join in… Of course yall will be up to 50 miles by then. Rachael will probably be at 100.

  8. Crystal Says:

    LOL! We’ll start over again with something else once one of us read 25 miles. I’m hoping I’m that “one.”

    šŸ˜‰

  9. Crystal Says:

    (sigh)
    “read” = reach


Leave a Reply

