Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

The best paper title I’ve heard all day. March 2, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Annette @ 8:56 pm

“Microbial aspects of the cockroach hindgut.”

Mmm, can I be the grad student who works on that study?

It’s bad enough that we’re having to read a paper which is based on this:
“The cecal contents of each 8-week-old CONV-R mouse were resuspended in 10 ml of sterile PBS, and 2-ml aliquots were spread on the fur of 7- to 10-week-old [germ free mouse] recipients.”

[That means spreading poop on mice, kids.]

Mmm…

 

5 Responses to “The best paper title I’ve heard all day.”

  1. Ducky Says:

    That’s awesome 🙂

    I wrote a paper last year with the working title “Curse of the Cestodes.” Before I handed it in I decided to change the title so my professor would take me slightly more seriously, so it ended up being “The Tapeworm Threat: How A. Perfoliata Causes Colic in Horses” – boy does THAT sound like an exciting read.

  2. Ducky Says:

    ..oh, and why exactly are they spreading poop on mice?

  3. Infinity Says:

    Basically they wanted to see if there was a difference in fat storage between germ-free mice and mice who had been germ-free but then had had poop (with plenty o’ germs) spread on them.

    What a wonderful idea…

  4. Ducky Says:

    poor little mice.

  5. Michael Says:

    Should I be worried b/c I find 90% of the papers I read/write boring as all get-out?


Leave a Reply

