Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

YAY! (Blessing of the Day.) April 11, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Annette @ 11:34 pm

Well, kids. Time for a life update.

So it looks like I have a job lined up in Columbia for the summer! It’s a pretty obvious blessing: it’s doing what I want to do, it’s at the university, and it’s through Extension which is where I’d like to work after I graduate. Oh, and plus it’s in Columbia so I’ll get to spend the summer with Darling Boyfriend. 🙂

Basically…I don’t really know much about the position yet. It’s considered an internship with Extension, and apparently they normally hire undergrads, but they must have had some open positions this year, so I got in. A lot of state schools have Extension branches, and my impression of Extension is that it’s the connection between the knowledge in the university and the application in the community, so in nutrition it’s a lot of health and wellness promotion and nutrition education. The Nutritional Sciences part of Extension at Mizzou is working on a bunch of cool projects, like promoting health in kids to combat obesity, all of which I think would be fun and interesting to work on. Because they have so many projects, they don’t know where they’re going to put me yet. I should find out in about a week. The pay is low, but so is the cost of living in Columbia, and it seems like it would be such good experience (not to mention getting an in with a potential future employer) that I really can’t justify passing it up. Plus the offices are in the bottom of an apartment building on campus where they said I could live for uber-cheap. So I could totally just roll out of bed and wander to work in the morning. 🙂 Pretty sweet.

And yeah, I got the physiology thing all worked out. I found a course through the University of Iowa (?! – hey, I searched every state from Washington to California to Michigan to Missouri). I got my course materials today, and so far it looks pretty cool. They have a very well-organized distance education program, unlike most schools, so along with the course website and the assignment packet and all that I also got a CD of audio recordings of all the classes. That’s pretty cool. I’ve never done a distance education course like that before, so that should be interesing. Plus it’s pathophysiology, which when I took it as an undergrad (and hopefully this one isn’t too different so I won’t have to study that much… ;)) was one of my favourite courses. So I’m looking forward to it.

In other retarded news, it snowed today. It still is snowing, actually. And being somewhat retarded myself, and attempting to boycott winter by refusing to continue wearing winter-appropriate footwear, I wore Crocs today. Yellow Crocs. With holes in the top. And sides. I knew it was snowing when I left this morning, but I forgot about the holes in the sides of the shoes and figured that the holes in the top wouldn’t let too much snow in. Well, all the holes in the front successfully accomplished was scooping the snow off the sidewalk and into my shoes. My socks were completely soaked by the time I got to school. I had to take them off and hang them to dry on a chair in my office. It was a pretty uncomfortable walk. And for the way home…I took the bus.

I’ve started writing up the paper I’m working on for my independent study. That’s the one about the use of complementary therapies in the treatment of eating disorders. I did most of the phone interviews when I was in Columbia over spring break, but I still have two more to go. I’ve got to get the paper written, though, because a week from tomorrow Part III of the diet project is turned in for us to grade, and all hell will once again break loose. This independent study really has been a lot of work. Way more work than I’ve put in for other 1-credit classes. Oh well, it’s been interesting, and I’m sure the paper will be interesting, too. I’m still not sure what it’s going to say.

In Plan B news…there is no news. I sent my Plan B review to my advisor like…I don’t know, 3 weeks ago or something, and she still hasn’t gotten back to me about it. I finally decided I couldn’t wait around for her anymore so today I started working on developing the survey for my study and filling in all the forms for the IRB. It hasn’t been too bad so far, but then my study is about the easiest thing you can do and still need IRB approval. Hopefully I’ll get that done in the next couple days and get it submitted so the IRB can then take weeks to deliberate over whether or not I can ask people with eating disorders about the supplements they’re taking. Hopefully I’ll get approval before the end of the semester so I can actually go in and place the surveys in the offices.

Only 4 1/2 weeks left! AHH! Man, I feel like I still have so much to do between now and then. Maybe that’s because I do. But I already bought my flight to Missouri! Yay!!

Do any of you cats know where you’re going for the Feast? I know that’s kind of asking a lot since they haven’t actually released where the sites are, but I figured I’d ask.

Unleavened Bread went pretty well here. It went by really really quickly. I almost left boxes of baking soda in both my fridge and freezer. I hardly even knew they were there, because they were in the fridge when I moved in and I’ve obviously never used them for anything. I cleaned all around them and put them back on the shelf. Then…waaaaaiiiiiittt… Did you kids ingest any sin this feast?

I think that’s about all I’ve got to say. Hi-ho, go forth and bloggeth!

 

3 Responses to “YAY! (Blessing of the Day.)”

  1. Michael Says:

    Congrats on the summer gig. That means you’ll be in MO when Heather has her baby!

  2. Summer Says:

    My sister isn’t in MO anymore, Mike. 😉

  3. Michael Says:

    lol… The Artist Formerly Known as Burson.


Leave a Reply

