Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

Since we’re all friends now… November 7, 2007

Filed under: Fertility,Health — Annette @ 8:50 pm

…and talk openly about our fertility (or, wait, is that just me?), there are a couple more things I want to mention.

1) Saliva ferning microscopes.
As you approach ovulation, saliva and cervical fluid take on a characteristic “ferning” pattern when dried and looked at under a microscope.  The stages look like this:

Because of this distinct change, it’s possible to predict when ovulation is about to happen.  When you see the transitional phase, you’re likely to ovulate in 3-4 days.  Since this is shorter than the 5-day window of how long sperm can live, a saliva ferning microscope on its own isn’t a good contraceptive device.  However, when used in combination with FAM it can be another reliable indicator of when you are about to ovulate.

I bought a Fertile Focus microscope recently and have been using it for a few days.  It’s pretty darn cool.  I’m sure there are several brands of scopes out there, but Fertile Focus was the first one I came across and was recommended by a FAM friend.  “Microscope” is kind of an overstatement for this little fertility toy.  The whole thing is composed of a tiny piece of concave glass, a single green LED and a lipstick tube.  Voila. 

It is very easy to use, though, and the change from one stage to another is very, very obvious.  The fertility software I use (Ovusoft) allows you to track saliva ferning directly in the software and takes it into consideration when determining your fertile phase.  For women who are concerned about the “ick factor” of some of the other biological signs of FAM (which, admittedly, I was initially as well), saliva ferning can be a useful and ick-less sign to track.

2) Menstrual cups.
Through my involvement in the FAM community I’ve come across the much-unknown but much-touted-once-known menstrual cups. 

A menstrual cup is…well, a cup that you use for menstruation.  Basically, it’s a flexible cup (usually made of silicone) that you insert during your period that collects the flow. You can empty it out into the toilet, then wipe or rinse off and reinsert. You clean it more thoroughly between cycles (boiling, soaking, etc.)

Some Pros:

  • Eco-friendly because they’re reusable (think of all the pads, tampons and liners you’ve thrown out over the years!)
  • Cheaper in the long run
  • Most women find them very comfortable
  • No problems with fiber deposition into the wall like with tampons
  • Don’t absorb vaginal secretions / mess up the normal functions of the tissue
  • Not associated with toxic shock
  • Can be worn for up to 12 hours (depending on your flow) so that ideally you only have to take it out twice a day!  (How awesome is THAT!)

Some Cons:

  •  Higher initial cost (the one I bought was ~$40, but was also shipped from the UK)
  • Learning curve of how to put it in and take it out
  • Some women likely find them gross or weird

There are many different brands which all basically do the same thing but have slight differences.  When I was trying to decide which brand to buy, this post was really helpful to me.  (The whole LiveJournal group is really helpful.)  I did end up buying the Mooncup UK (not to be confused with the Moon Cup by Keeper, who decided to steal the name) as she suggested, and would highly recommend it.

That’s my fertility talk for today, boys and girls.  As always, comments and questions are welcome.

 

13 Responses to “Since we’re all friends now…”

  1. Summer Says:

    Aaaand I’m really glad my browser decided to not show that picture.

  2. Crystal Says:

    I feel like I need to add your website to Jarek’s “blocked” list. Sorry… he’s only 7 & I just don’t think we need to discuss any of this stuff yet. He can only view “G” rated programs.

    😉

    On the other hand, I have a book that a friend gave me years ago discussing most of what you mentioned. I think it’s great for women to know their are other options out there.

  3. Infinity Says:

    That’s fine. The stuff I write isn’t intended for kids, anyway.

    And wait, Jarek reads my blog??

  4. Ryan G Says:

    Morgen is cut off as well, at least for a few more years. 😉

    Anyhow, your motivation to educate is a good thing and I appreciate your posts on this topic. Most people would perhaps prefer to not discuss these things, but frankly it doesn’t hurt anyone to have the full scoop on their options.

  5. Amanda Says:

    Of course, there are options! When are you going to talk to your kids about fertility, Annette? Mark and I said that once our girls have their period they will have to learn, if gradually, the ins and outs.

  6. Infinity Says:

    Amanda – I haven’t really sat down to think about it yet, but my guess is that I’ll tend to favour discussing these things at an earlier age than some might. But that’s also partly because I think anatomy is really really cool, and everybody should know what they’ve got. 🙂

    Ryan – I guess that makes me weird, then, because I think this stuff is SO cool – how could you NOT want to talk about it?? But I also understand and respect that some people just don’t. That’s fine, but I will still continue to talk about it. 🙂

  7. Gary Says:

    I know how you feel when you say “..this stuff is SO cool…”

    In a…non-weird way, haha. I loved chiropractic/physical therapy for a long time and was serious enough to do it for a career. My mind changed over the years, but I can’t help feeling fascinated by God’s handiwork and the intricacies of the human body. Particularly how everything works in conjunction, harmoniously and flawlessly. Truly amazing 🙂

  8. Ryan G Says:

    but it IS cool 🙂 unfortunately, some people just don’t see anatomy, physiology and “body science” as neat-O and worthy of public discourse—hence, the state of science and understanding in this culture!

    Morgen has already started Intro to Anatomy: “point to your extensor digitorum brevis, now where does that insert?” 🙂

  9. Crystal Says:

    Well… he doesn’t read your blog on a regular basis. 😉 j/k

    No. We have him limited to a select few websites/webpages. I was just teasing. (=

  10. Ducky Says:

    Thanks for the helpful info Annette, even if it does make for completely impolite dinner conversation.

    And hey, it’s your blog, you can post whatever you want, right? 🙂

  11. Infinity Says:

    Hey, it all depends on whom you’re having dinner with. 🙂

  12. smefertility Says:

    Good blog, ovulation microscopes are great for women that can’t use ovulation tests.

    I wish more women knew about them!

    http://www.smefertility.com/babystart-focus-ovulation-microscope-408-p.asp


Leave a Reply

