Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

The strangest thing. February 4, 2008

Filed under: Life — Annette @ 8:27 am

On Saturday mornings my husband usually makes us eggs for breakfast.  This Saturday morning I awoke with a hankering for hot chocolate, so I decided to get up and contribute to the breakfast by making us wonderful big mugs of hot chocolate.  I even used milk instead of water (once you’ve used milk, water-based hot chocolate just doesn’t taste the same).  The hot chocolate looked thick and creamy as we sat down to eat.  There was only one problem.

It tasted like soap.

Now, this wasn’t just like, Hmm, this tastes a little bit strange.  Is that soap?  This was more like, Thank you so much for the big frothy mug of soap.

I couldn’t figure out what had gone wrong.  Maybe the spoon I used hadn’t been rinsed off well in the dishwasher?  Maybe there was some soap residue that got mixed in with our hot chocolate?  Charlie took one sip and poured the contents of both of our mugs down the drain.  Boo.

It wasn’t until I was cleaning up that I discovered the culprit: the hot chocolate itself.  I opened up the big tub, and the powder reeked of soap.  In fact..is that…laundry detergent?  And Bounce fabric softener?  I remembered then that when I moved here from Minnesota, we packed the hot chocolate in a box with the laundry detergent and fabric softener.  Apparently a few weeks stuffed inside a box with powerful cleaning agents will corrupt a perfectly good tub of hot chocolate.

Lesson learned.

In other news, I ran 5 miles yesterday.  I purposely ran it as slow as possible, but it made me feel pretty stupid when Charlie eventually stopped running and resigned himself to walking quickly by my side.  I had to keep telling myself that he was 6’4″ and it was a QUICK walk.  It was.

 

3 Responses to “The strangest thing.”

  1. Ducky Says:

    ewwww 🙂

  2. Crystal Says:

    lol. JB did the exact same thing with me a few nights ago when we went to the high school track to run. we both started jogging & i could tell he had to make himself “down-shift” into a lower gear so he would fall back beside me. then, he lovingly said as only JB can, “Crystal. Are you kidding?” and he stopped jogging and started “fast-walking” and stayed right beside me as I continued my pathetic jog. )=

  3. Melody Says:

    sudsy hot chocolate…yum! that is too funny…


Leave a Reply

