Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

The Plantar Fascia Strikes Back. March 27, 2008

Filed under: Running — Annette @ 5:50 pm

So I have self-diagnosed my foot pain as plantar fasciitis.  My highly qualified physical therapist and occupational therapist (aka – sister and brother-in-law) also agreed.  I took two days off of running and most of the pain cleared up, but today I decided to run again and only did 3 miles, but it aggravated it quite a bit. 

This is really an unfortunate time to develop a running injury, considering that the half marathon is just over a week away.  My therapists’ advice is to start RICEing – rest, ice, compression, elevation.  I think I am going to skip my long run this weekend.  I’m confident that I am physically able to run the 10 miles required by our training, but I’m afraid that if I actually do it it will really irritate the fasciitis and I won’t be able to do the race. 

Charlie suggested replacing running with a different activity, like spinning or using the eliptical.  I’ll probably do that in the meantime, and then just brute-force my way through the race, even if it’s hurting.  I’m kind of disappointed with my body, in that I’ve never really had pain or an injury from running before, but as my sister pointed out, 10 miles is a long way for one run – and I’ve been doing close to 20 miles a week.

So, hopefully this clears up pretty soon.  Prayers would be appreciated.  10 days to go.

 

2 Responses to “The Plantar Fascia Strikes Back.”

  1. Michelle Says:

    You might want to try an orthotic in your running shoe. I use the Dr. Scholls ones…I can’t remember how much they cost…$10 or $15? They have really helped me recover from and then avoid the dreaded plantar fasciitis. I actually have a set in all my shoes except my flip flops. 🙂

    Hope you recover soon. Injuries are a big fat bummer!

  2. Infinity Says:

    Thanks, Michelle! I think I will try them out as soon as physically possible.

    So based on the apparent need for increased support, today was probably a bad day to wear Crocs…


Leave a Reply

