Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

13.1 miles later… April 7, 2008

Filed under: Running — Annette @ 6:45 pm

I did it! 🙂

It was challenging, and I’m glad Robin was determined to stick with me rather than running ahead.  I started to poop out earlier than I thought I would, so after about mile 7 I ended up walking a few times for about a minute each.  I basically would run to the next mile marker, walk for a minute, and then run to the next mile marker. 

That was after the GU incident – I had tried using GU in a long run a few weeks before, and hadn’t had any problems with it.  So I popped one open at about mile 7 and downed half of it, with water.  A few seconds later my heart was pounding and my head was feeling woozy.  So…I decided not to do that again.

My time was 2:23, which overall I was pretty happy with, considering everything.  I was shooting for consistent 10-minute miles throughout, which would have put me at 2:11.  So considering that it was a half marathon, I had a GU attack, I was still dealing with plantar fasciitis and blisters, AND we had to weave through 13,000 other runners, I’m pretty okay with being 12 minutes off from my goal.  Overall, it was a good time.


Just after crossing the start line.  (Yes, I brought my phone with me.  What?  It keeps my arm from going numb.)


Yes, Robin was on her phone while running.  She was calling Cindy, who was also running.


After crossing the finish line.

 
The whole group.

 

5 Responses to “13.1 miles later…”

  1. TheLioness22 Says:

    Awesome! Glad it went well. Sorry I didn’t make it downtown at all. I didn’t even get up until 9 (which is actually really good for me on the weekends…). 😉 Thanks for sharing the pics – they’re great!

  2. crystal Says:

    woo hoo! way to go!

  3. Michelle Says:

    Yea! Great job!

  4. Melody Says:

    wow, good for you!

  5. Ducky Says:

    Awesome! 🙂


Leave a Reply

