Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

And in other news… April 29, 2008

Filed under: Fertility,Life — Annette @ 7:33 pm

I’ve decided that I want to become a doula.

On Saturday night I went from not knowing what a doula was to wanting to be a doula in about 15 minutes. 

There are a lot of different certifying organizations out there, but the one I like best so far is Childbirth International.  I came across them mainly because all the other big organizations require a weekend training seminar, which wouldn’t work because of the Sabbath.  They allow you to do everything through distance education, plus your birth observations and a childbirth class that you do locally.  Plus I really like that they’ve streamlined the certification process so it’s not in eight different pieces with different prices like the other organizations.  PLUS they don’t make you pay them to “recertify” yourself every couple years.  I’m impressed.

So, it’s probably not something that I’ll do right away (I’ve got enough course work and job insecurity to think about right now), but I would definitely like to pursue it in the future.

I’m still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.

 

6 Responses to “And in other news…”

  1. Ducky Says:

    This is great, now when I have a baby, you can be my doula 😉

  2. Amanda Says:

    You’re insane.

  3. Amanda Says:

    …though you might be able to observe mine if you want. 🙂

  4. Audrey Says:

    Noble profession, won’t really work with the Sabbath unless you only work with women who “schedule” their birth. But, it’s a great way to prepare mentally for the reality of pregnancy and a newborn baby. Being a mom is a noble profession, too. You can work it out where you get to do all the things you enjoy in one occupation!

  5. Audrey Says:

    Like reading other people’s blogs at 9:30 in the morning : )

  6. Infinity Says:

    The Sabbath is a concern, but many doulas work with other local doulas to arrange for a back-up in case they aren’t able to make it for whatever reason.

    Amanda, why am I insane? 🙂


Leave a Reply

