Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

This makes me happy. May 31, 2008

Filed under: Fertility,Life — Annette @ 9:15 am

People are finally starting to catch on that the Fertility Awareness Method (FAM) is a legitimate form of birth control. It makes me happy to see it listed alongside the likes of spermicides and the Pill. Although, I would argue that the efficacy rate is higher (99.4%), but then this book came out around the same time that the 2007 study that found that efficacy rate was published. (Did I mention that I communicated with the PI of the study via email? Very cool.) Kudos to Dorian Solot and Marshall Miller, the folks of I Love Female Orgasm, for actually doing their homework and reading the book.

In other [non-orgasmic] news, we’re doing just splendiferously. Yesterday was our 5 month anniversary. In some ways it’s hard to believe it’s been that long, and in another way it seems like we’ve been married for forever. It’s been fun. In talking last night we both agreed that marriage is continually getting easier with time. I’m less anxious and tense about everything being perfect, and we’re both learning how to live with each other and communicate effectively.

We also finished up our entrepreneurship course, which was a good learning experience. Charlie even presented his business concept in the last class, and was able to get feedback on it from seasoned business veterans, as well as the rest of the class. They even gave us certificates of completion, which we’re pretty sure were printed on nicer paper than Charlie’s degree. Next up: Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University.

Still lots of ridiculous and unnecessary drama at el trabajo. I found a nice academic advisor position which I applied for yesterday.

One thing that is pretty cool though: Last summer one of my big projects at work was developing a study abroad course in Italy, to focus on the Mediterranean diet and lifestyle. Well, it really did happen, and the students and instructors are in Florence as we speak. They’re hoping they can bring me along next year. Very cool stuff.

I think I’ve also decided that rather than being a doula, I’d like to become a childbirth educator and breastfeeding counselor. These pursuits would be much more logistically do-able than being a doula, and would allow me to maintain my regular 8-5. Plus since childbirth classes can charge $150-300/couple, it would also be more lucrative than being a doula. Maybe I’ll be a doula when I retire.

And my skunkworks project is still in the works. I’ve revised the written proposal so it is much, much better, and I’m meeting with a few people this week to talk about potential funding sources. Good stuff.

Enjoy your Sabbath, everybody!

 

2 Responses to “This makes me happy.”

  1. rakkav Says:

    About your little sticker: I promise not to go there. Really.

    Can I be part of your “crew”? πŸ™‚ Check out my blog before you decide…

    Thanks for all the good news here and elsewhere! (Who knew that you would have a category dedicated to “wit and sarcasm”? Maybe I should rename my “humor” category as “screwballitude”, which is an original word so far as I know.)

    Shalom,

    John Wheeler
    The Chronicles of Johanan Rakkav
    http://rakkav.wordpress.com/

  2. Infinity Says:

    Hey John,
    Sure, why not. πŸ™‚ One rule, though. You must keep your comments to a restricted length of less than one page. πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

