Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

Domesticity: FAIL! July 31, 2008

Filed under: Life — Annette @ 3:55 pm

My awesome Mom bought us a sewing machine – AND a case! How awesome is that.

I immediately set about to removing the beer gut from several of Charlie’s button-down shirts. (As Mom pointed out, it’s nice that I was taking them in, rather than having him grow into them.)

We ended up having severe issues with the sewing machine. The top thread wasn’t making a proper stitch. We tried changing the tension, changing the stitch, checking that all the settings were right. Nothing was helping. Finally I left Charlie alone with it, and eventually he figured it out. (What he did that fixed it didn’t make any sense, but it works now.)

After all the trouble, I finally went back to sewing Charlie’s shirts. I got the first one taken in properly after a few tries, and set about to cutting out the extra fabric. Boo. I need to pay more attention to where I cut.

My mom’s sage advice was, “Yep, I’ve done that. You’ll learn.”

And I did. The next three shirts were successful.

After that I set about to removing the big butt from a pair of capris I’d bought at Goodwill. I was trying to take it in so it wouldn’t be so big. I tried them on and asked Charlie if it was any better. He responded that they made my butt look big, take them off NOW NOW NOW and throw them away so no woman will ever have to have her butt look like that.

Now my big plan is to make these (sans vinyl). I’m hyped.

I also just received this book in the mail today. I have big plans for a massive set of container gardens when we get a house, so I’m going to become an expert.

 

One Response to “Domesticity: FAIL!”

  1. rakkav Says:

    > He responded that they made my butt look big, take them off NOW NOW NOW and throw them away so no woman will ever have to have her butt look like that.

    It was that bad? I can’t imagine it. I’m not sure I’d want to.


Leave a Reply

