Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

Run #2. October 6, 2008

Filed under: Running — Annette @ 7:41 am

Last night I went out for what I believe was my first ever spontaneous run.  Usually I plan my runs days or hours ahead of time, scheduling meals and potty breaks around my runs.  Last night after spending some time reading Runner’s World (somehow I got three free issues from the Go! St. Louis people), I felt inspired.  I didn’t even have my regular running shoes, but I slapped my Dr. Scholl’s orthotics (thanks, Michelle!) into my old old running shoes (as in, Couch-to-5K running shoes) and set out.  It was fun.

It’s interesting all the things you forget when you haven’t been running consistently.  Like how your lungs burn when running uphill, and how Columbia is ALL hills.  And how to stretch properly.  The reason I was walking like a cowboy after run #1 was because I forgot to stretch my groin muscles – and my hamstrings, now that I think about it.  I didn’t repeat that mistake again.

So yes, I’m looking forward to this running season, and a better half marathon in April.

 

One Response to “Run #2.”

  1. afragogrunner Says:

    Good luck on your half marathon in April!
    Runner’s world is a great inspiration to get out there and run.


Leave a Reply

