Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

Run #16. December 17, 2008

Filed under: Running — Annette @ 8:09 am

Yesterday.  Me, the treadmill, my iPod, Jeopardy sans audio and Robin (across the room).  I tried to get the audio to work on two treadmills with their own TV screen (ah yes, the Rec center), but alas, was foiled in my attempts.  So I settled for my iPod on shuffle and trying to read people’s lips on Jeopardy so I could find out what the correct answer was.  Dude.  This was like…one of the best runs ever.  I don’t know what the deal was.  I ran 3.5 miles!  On a TREADMILL!  

The day before I ran 1.5 miles and was completely done.  But yesterday it almost felt like I was finally figuring out the rhythm of running on a treadmill, without fearing for my life that I was going to be flung off of it.  I started into it thinking I’d do may be 2 miles, then that turned into 3, then 3.5.  And really, even then I still felt pretty good.  I just didn’t want to keep going because people were waiting to get on the treadmills and Robin was waiting on me to take me home.  So anyway, yeah, I ran at 6.0 mph (10 minute mile) for the first 3 miles, then bumped it up to 6.5 for the last 0.5 mile.  Weird.  Robin felt the same thing.  She ran at 7.0 for most of her run (she’s a gazelle), then bumped it up to 7.7 and still felt fine.  We both walked out of the Rec going, Wow, why did that feel so good?

Good run.

 

4 Responses to “Run #16.”

  1. Lyndell Says:

    I find treadmills are so much easier than real running.

  2. Annette Says:

    Running on a treadmill isn’t real running?

  3. Kerr Says:

    It definitely uses some different muscles than actual running. It’s still beneficial, just not exactly the same.

  4. Mike Says:

    Sometimes the treadmill can surprise you. You can get a pretty decent workout in on one. And there was even a line to get on it when you were done! It’s a good occasional break from the outdoor running routine.


Leave a Reply

