Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

Run #20, 5K Race #2. December 31, 2008

Filed under: Running — Annette @ 5:21 pm

Whoohoo! I just ran in a 5K race. It’s the first 5K race I’ve run in since my very first one with Brian in 2006, post Couch-to-5K. Candy, Donna and I did it, although we ended up all running separately since we were running at different paces.

The course was hilly, but we knew that since we ran it yesterday. I picked up my scarily consistent and accurate 10 minute mile pace a bit and ran at a 9:40 pace for a finish time of 30:00. On the dot, seriously. I wanted to pick up the pace a bit, but I probably should have pushed myself harder. I felt pretty much fine after I crossed the finish line, which to me means that I didn’t push myself hard enough. The finish line was after a big uphill, though, so that was a big pain in the butt. The starting line was at an uphilll, too.

I didn’t feel as good as I did yesterday, but I think a lot of that was the cold. It’s 24F/-4C today, and yesterday was much warmer. Plus we left like 25 minutes early and walked over to the starting line, then stood there for 15 minutes. So I had plenty of time to get cold, and I don’t think I ever really warmed up. Except for my hands, which always get hot after the first mile or so. My iPod was out in the cold for 25 minutes before we even started, so the battery froze up after the second song. Boo. Maybe I need to get one of those hot packs and stick it in my arm band. Hmm…

Candy came in a minute after I did, and Donna trotted in just under 40 minutes. She’s our newbie and it was her first race, so I think she did a good job. We warmed up in CycleExtreme and ate bagels, then stepped outside to walk back and after we felt the cold we decided to run back instead.

So make that 3.5 miles.


 

Leave a Reply

