Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

Yes! I love Starbucks oatmeal! January 8, 2009

Filed under: Food — Annette @ 3:17 pm

Success of Starbucks Oatmeal
According to Starbucks Corporation, its newly introduced hot oatmeal menu option is the coffee chain’s most popular food item and its most successful food product launch to date.

 

6 Responses to “Yes! I love Starbucks oatmeal!”

  1. Ducky Says:

    If you think oatmeal is supposed to be glue, Starbucks has the oatmeal for you 🙂 It tastes good, just don’t expect it to look like properly cooked oatmeal!

  2. Annette Says:

    What do you think it’s supposed to look like?

  3. crystal Says:

    I’ve never had the Starbucks oatmeal but I agree that I don’t like my oatmeal resembling glue. (=

    I usually “undercook” mine so that it’s still more oat-like & less glue-like. Not sure if this is what Ducky was referring to.

    I think I got this from my mom who grew up in Ohio & called it porridge (which is pretty much unheard of in Texas & which I still call it). I always thought maybe it was a northern thing but Annette, you’re from the “north.” ???

    • Ivar Says:

      Actually, a porridge is just a catch-all term for dishes like oatmeal, grits, etc.

      Porridge can be one or a combo of grains/legumes and can even contain meats. It was originally a savory dish, consumed any time of day but has come to be more of a breakfast dish.

      Starbuck’s instant oatmeal is one of the lower quality types of oatmeal, similar to Quaker’s instant oats. Higher quallity grains are the type that take half an hour to cook, taste much better and are better for you.

      Consistency, grain softness and other ingredients in your morning bowl is personal preference, nothing is set in stone.

  4. Annette Says:

    I know what porridge is, but…I guess I just don’t have a strong opinion on the consistency of oatmeal. 🙂

  5. Chrissy Says:

    I think their oatmeal is awesome! and I love the goodies to top it with…brown sugar, granola, cranberries and raisins.. YUM!


Leave a Reply

