Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

If we call it an adventure, it won’t seem so bad. January 14, 2009

Filed under: House,Life — Annette @ 10:29 pm

I’m now sitting at a hotel on a nice fluffy king size bed. Meanwhile, my husband is outside sitting in the truck on the coldest night of the winter, waiting for the tow truck to arrive.

Let me start from the beginning. The whole process of moving has been pretty hellacious. I estimate that we’ve made about 15 trips with full truckloads if stuff to the house. And we don’t even own anything. We started the process of moving out a long time ago so today wouldn’t be so stressful, but unfortunately you can only plan for so much. Last night we moved my tropical houseplants over to my office for safekeeping, since our house has no heat. One of the plants that we’ve been nurturing foe several years got frozen in the trip over. It’s now a very sad, drooping stalk.

Today the plan was to only have the bed left to move, and then it would be easy to throw our clothes together and head to the hotel. Good idea. The jon with moving, though, is that miscellaneous small crap keeps reappearing. You think you’ve gotten all the small stuff out, and then there’s more. And more. And more. And soon you’ve taken three truckloads of stuff over that you didn’t even know you had left.

We worked straight through the day without a lunch break so we could leave at four. I actually had a meeting down in Jeff City, which I completely forgot about, so I’ve been there and back again today, too. As it turns out, it’s a good thing I didn’t have to drive. At four Charlie picked me up and we headed home to move the bed. That’s all we have left, right? So we move the bed, and about three more truckloads of small stuff. Needless to say, this is a stressful experience. Oh, and we have Bible study at 7:30. We were also supposed to have a visit with Mr. Smith, but thankfully Charlie cancelled that. (we do like Mr. Smith, we just need to reschedule :)).

Anyway, so Charlie is moving stuff put, and I’m packing stuff up. As I get to yw cloyies I realize that we don’t have enough suitcases I’d bags to put our clothes in. Pretty soon our hanging clothes are being put into garbage bags as garment bags. And our other clothes are being thrown into recycling bags. Blue ones. Charlie is understandably not impressed by this, but we don’t gave much choice.

We get most of the stuff moved over and the apartment mostly cleaned out. It’s a pretty shoddy job, but it’ll do. Meanwhile, it’s supposed to get down to -15F with the windchill tonight, so Charlie is at yw house Teton tobget the furnace Hooke back up tobyhe wiring. We had the electricians rewire our house, so theoretically we can turn the heat back on. Charlie can’t get it to work, though, and we have to get to Bible study. So we go.

Oh, and the other thing I need to mention is that right before we start moving all out stuff tonight, we notice that the truck cook has reset itself to 12:00. Hmm, that’s not a good sign, especially considering that the device engine soon light came on a few weeks ago, but we haven’t had time to deal with it. So now Charlie is concerned that the battery is dying. We try to leave the truck running the whole time we’re loading and unloading, buy we forget a couple times and the engine is pretty rough startin up again.

We go to Bible study, leave right afterwards, and the truck starts fine. Good. We got back to the apartment, loasnup the last of the stuff (mainly garbage and recycling bags…), and head over to the hotel. Charlie starts sunging the theme song to the Beverly Hillbilies as we drive in. Unload fine, then Charlie goes to head out to take a few things back to the house and to pour antifreeze in the toilet to keep it from freezing.

He leaves, and I go to unpack our homeless bags of stuff. Then I get a text. The truck battery is dead.

Well, okay. We have a battery charger thing in the truck, so he can use that to get himself started again, and everything will be fine.

Unfortunately the battery charger thing doesn’t actually work. So he has to call a tow truck for a jump. Oh, and did I mention that it’s -12F outside?

Anyway, by now be should be at the house, trying to hook the thermostat up to the furnace again so our house won’t freeze tonight.

Ohhh, the adventure that us our life. Oh, and needless to say, I can’t find anything that I packed. Contact solution and case? No idea. Toothbrush? Who cares.

11:10pm. I’m going to bed now. Forgive me for the typos; this was entirely typed on my iPhone.

 

6 Responses to “If we call it an adventure, it won’t seem so bad.”

  1. crystal Says:

    i loved it. i felt like i was decrypting a secret message. 😉

  2. amanda Says:

    i was definitely thinking it wasn’t like you at all to make your reader unscramble your meaning! 🙂 Good work, guys. I am dreading moving out of this apartment. You never know how much stuff you have until you try to pack it.

  3. Annette Says:

    LOL. I just re-read it. And to think, when I wrote it I didn’t think there were that many typos. 🙂

  4. Phil Sena Says:

    This story reminds me of every move we’ve made since being married (all eleven!). Thanks for the memories, Annette (not).

    I feel your pain… (and the pain of writing on an iPhone).

  5. Leona D Says:

    Right up until that last sentence, I was thinking, “I can feel the stress – it’s manifesting itself in typos.” An adventure, for sure!

  6. lyndell21 Says:

    That’s a lot of thumb work to type it on an iPhone.


Leave a Reply

