Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

Reduce Your Food Bills: Plant a Recession Garden. February 17, 2009

Filed under: Growing — Annette @ 2:26 pm

Playing off of the victory gardens of World War II, we now have “recession gardens.”

I am SO excited to be able to go to a Recession Garden training course here on campus starting in March. It’s offered by the ultimately cool Jefferson Farm & Gardens and will be presented by Jim Wilson, an apparently prolific gardener, educator, and former host of “The Victory Garden” on PBS.

I’m especially excited about being able to go because I tried to sign up for the first section they offered, but it had filled up within four days of opening. I plan to grow a large majority of our foodstuffs this season, so I’m very very excited. Plus I get continuing education credits for Master Gardener! Columbia is so cool!

 

2 Responses to “Reduce Your Food Bills: Plant a Recession Garden.”

  1. rakkav Says:

    A Recession Garden. Very kewl beans (pun intended), but what’s next? A Great Tribulation Garden?

    I don’t know how this link showed up on my own blog, but I’m glad I followed it. (Maybe it was in connection with my post on the Vienna Vegetable Orchestra). Cultivate on!

  2. Annette Says:

    Hey, if we can still manage to have gardens in the Great Tribulation, I will be all for it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

