Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

We Gotta Eat ’em to Save ’em July 22, 2009

Filed under: Environment,Food,Growing,Local,News and Blogs — Annette @ 7:34 am

Farm biodiversity is disappearing. If we would just eat endangered crops and livestock now, restoring their role in the food supply, we could save them from extinction.

http://www.miller-mccune.com/science_environment/eat-em-to-save-em-1338

 

One Response to “We Gotta Eat ’em to Save ’em”

  1. Terri Says:

    This is a very interesting subject to me, one I’ve spent some time looking into. It’s often overwelming when thinking of these kinds of problems. How can one person make a difference? I’ve found two ways to do what little one person can do. I seek out and buy from vendors at the farmers’ markets who grow and sell heirloom varieties. If they have a market, they will continue to grow them.

    I’m also working towards only growing heirloom varieties in my gardens. Unfortunately, the only way I know to find heirloom seeds (other than saving some from the previous season) is to purchase online. I haven’t been able to find many locally.


Leave a Reply

