Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

Eating seasonally. August 18, 2009

Filed under: Food,Growing,Life,Local — Annette @ 8:41 am

I’ve been enjoying the creativity and new experiences that come with eating seasonally. “Well, we have a whole bunch of tomatoes right now. What should I do with them?” I don’t have enough to can for salsa or spaghetti sauce (which is my hope, eventually). Because I’ve been focused on eating what comes out of our garden and what’s available at the farmer’s market, we’ve had basil pesto, pico de gallo, and now bruschetta. I’ve never made any of these things before, and they’ve all been amazing.

The bruschetta is up there with the pesto on one of the best things I have ever made. I wish I’d taken a picture of the pesto, but I think it didn’t even make it out of the food processor. I ate half of it before Charlie even got home, and we polished the rest off with dinner.

I’ve recently introduced butter into my cooking. I know, how unusual. I never liked the taste of butter while I was growing up. Maybe we just always had low quality butter at home (sorry, Mom), but it just never tasted that good. That, combined with the saturated fat issue, and I became more of a margarine person. (Only the NO TRANS FAT type, of course, for those who think margarine is the devil. We can have this debate at another time.) Anyway, Charlie refused to give up his butter, so we always had some in the house. And now that I’ve tried cooking with it a few times, the margarine is gone.

Last night when I was cooking up the bruschetta (with lots of butter, oh my), Charlie was like, “Who are you? Where is my wife??” And the buttery bruschetta was totally amazing. BUT, not something that we should eat every day. All in moderation.

 

2 Responses to “Eating seasonally.”

  1. Nikki Says:

    Butter really does offer a smoother, and more held together texture in cooking!
    I used to always use either extra virgin olive oil, green tea seed oil, or margarine (I know which type you’re talking about! Margarine isn’t ALL that bad in moderation.), but found butter is great for baking. You can also even use less salt when cooking with it, which is an added bonus. 🙂
    I’ve come to like “pam” with doing stir-fry foods, but am still a little unsure as to whether or not i want anything sprayed from a can in my food…
    I like that there’s butters with 50% less calories and fat than regular butter. That makes me feel a bit better about it. 🙂
    Great blog by the way, I just started one up on here and have the same template. 🙂 I love it!
    -Nikki

  2. mamaterri Says:

    Eating seasonally is amazing, isn’t it? I don’t eat 100% seasonally (sometimes in the dead of winter, I just crave fresh greens!), but I try. When I have more tomatoes than I can use, but not enough to can, I freeze them. Some people freeze them whole. I don’t personally like them that way. I usually freeze them diced, crushed or even made into tomato sauce. It’s worth a try.

    The bruschetta sounds wonderful! Oh, by the way, if you have more basil pesto than you know what to do with, try freezing it in ice cube trays, then storing the cubes in zip lock baggies. It’s a little different than fresh, but still quite good. Since I’m the only one in my house that likes pesto, the ice-cube size is perfect for when I want a little pesto.


Leave a Reply

