Infinite Blogging

Tales of love, fertility and nourishing food.

Cooking in the kitchen. September 4, 2009

Filed under: Food — Annette @ 8:31 am
Tomato carrot basil soup

Tomato carrot basil soup

Freezing for the winter. Made sure to follow the instructions for freezing in glass jars...

Freezing for the winter. Made sure to follow the instructions for freezing in glass jars...

FAIL. sigh.

FAIL. sigh.

Stuffed tomatoes

Stuffed tomatoes

Making red wine tomato sauce. Removing skins.

Making red wine tomato sauce. Removing skins.

Pureeing.

Pureeing.

Sauteeing onions and herbs

Adding the wine

Adding the wine

Simmering and thickening

Simmering and thickening

Finished

Finished

Went the break-free route of freezing this time. Also made another batch of soup.

Went the break-free route of freezing this time. Also made another batch of soup.

 

2 Responses to “Cooking in the kitchen.”

  1. mamaterri Says:

    Hi Annette. I don’t know if you’re interested in some tips for freezing in jars or if you’d just rather go the safe route (in plastic). I mostly freeze in plastic (vacuum sealed) simply because it takes up less space in the freezer. But occassionally I do freeze in glass jars. I’ve learned two tips that really reduced breakage. The first is that to use straight sided jars rather than jars that have “shoulders” (narrowing at the top of the jar). Wide-mouthed pints are the best at this. If I need to use quarts, I will use a wide-mouthed quart rather than a regular-mouthed one.

    The other tip is to completely cool the jar in the refrigerator (to less than 40 degrees if possible) before putting it in the freezer. When I first heard this one, I didn’t think much of it, but it really seems to work.

    Your soup looks WONDERFUL!

  2. Annette Says:

    I try to avoid plastic as much as I can, but I figure I’ll probably can next year so I’ll just use the bags in the meantime.

    Thank you for the tips! They sound like they would help. I will keep those in mind for the future. 🙂


Leave a Reply

